How to rank/choose 1st externship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roryportman

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Question for upperclassmen/psychologists.

My end goal, as of now, is to be a neuropsychologist. I'm a 1st year PhD student in the nyc area and am participating in the "match" for my 1st externship for next year. I will need to have neuropsych externships 3rd & 4th year, so for next year, what kind of site would be best to aim for? University counseling, academic medical center, inpatient setting? I've had/have interviews at all these sites and I am not sure how to rank- there are obviously pros and cons for each. What things should I be thinking about and aiming for?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Ah, your first year of making some rankings huh? Welcome to that lovely madness! You'll have to do so again for the rest of your externship years, internship, and then postdoc. But I digress... To answer your question, neuropsychologists generally work in medical centers, and also can have a role in inpatient settings. Not so much counseling centers. So I would aim for a medical center externship if I were you. Do you know what kind of role you would have as an extern in a medical center? As testing usually takes place at these sites, you might even be able to do some testing in your first year externship at a medical center -- which will then be very useful experience for applying to neuropsych-specific externships later.

Last edited:
@DSMX, right?! looking forward to it :yawn: