I failed most of my prereqs during Undergrad and now plan to do a post bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undergrad13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have just heard about the UNE post bacc program and plan to retake all of the courses I failed. During Undergrad, I got a C+ in Gen chem1, a D in Gen chem 2, I got an A- in gen bio 1 and a C in gen bio 2. B in Physics 1 and a C- in Physics 2. I got an A in orgo 1 and lab, I got a B i orgo 2 and lab. I got an F in Biochem and Anatomy. I plan to retake Gen chem 2, Physics 2, Biochem and Anatomy and Physiology (I only took anatomy). The biggest reason for my low grades were due to personal life problems that have now since been resolved. It has been 2 years since I graduated and Will start the post bac program in 2 months. I took the MCAT last year and scored a 517 despite the low grades in undergrad courses. My GPA is 2.9. I have 10,000 hours of clinical experience, 40 hours of shadowing. I have taken phlebotomy and wound care courses; I can successfully draw blood and suture among many other things. I am certified in CPR and first aid.
A couple people have told me that I would not get accepted to med school even if I retake those classes because you do not have many upper division science courses. In that post bacc, I plan to retake Biochem, take 2 anatomy and physiology courses and a molecular biology course. It is difficult to know which schools consider those three courses as upper level science course or not. I am unable to take a SMP due to time and money. That post bacc is all I got.
So do I need to take upper level science courses? Will i be able to get into med school?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
What’s your sGPA?
What do those 10k clinical hours consist of?
What about nonclinical volunteering serving unserved/underserved in your community?

Reactions: 1 users