I hate Chemistry!!

Eyeofthestorm1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am currently a Sophomore in high school, I actually want to be a research scientist, but this thread seemed like a good place to gather opinions.

So this year I am taking Honors Chemistry (Inorganic) and it is absolutely horrible! I feel like I am watching paint dry on a wall listening to these 90 minute lectures every other day. (My school is on block schedule.) I really don't want to hate Chemistry, but it has been a struggle for me.

Despite how boring I find the subject, I can power through the lectures and not zone out. This doesn't do much for me, I still for whatever reason just don't retain the information. I try to watch videos on the topics we are learning, do a little bit of homework every night, and nothing seems to help my sinking grade.

I know I can make a B in the class, but it hurts me to see a science class go down on my transcript with a B. My first semester grade was a B.

The only units I understood were Stoichiometry and Periodic Trends. I found that Stoich and Per Trends just clicked with me. I actually explained the whole Per Trends unit to my class on our first day of learning it. Stoich and Per Trends are why I have an 89.9 in the class right now.

I have no friends in my hour and the teacher is too busy to help students after school.

Biology on the other hand..... I get extremely excited just at the thought of it (more specifically Anatomy and Genetics). I cannot wait to contribute my research and I hope I can make a difference in Genetics. I have taken an interest in Anatomy since I was a small child and an interest in Genetics since 7th grade.

I know I will run into Chemistry for years and years to come and that is why I want to like it. Sorry for the length of this

My questions
How can I learn to enjoy Chemistry?
How can I not struggle through it?

Members don't see this ad.