I have to take an extra semester for Calculus, should I go for a second degree?

Jul 14, 2012
Status
Pre-Medical
My BS in bio degree needed calculus and I had to take the placement exam to get into it. Unfortunately, the placement exam only allows you to sign up for classes next semester.

So now I will be graduating in 4.5 years. How bad does this look?

Should I just go for my psychology BA as well (I only need 3 more classes) to make this look better.

Graduate with 2 degrees vs. 1 in 4.5 years?

eteshoe

2+ Year Member
Jan 4, 2016
Tethys, Saturn
Status
MD/PhD Student
4.5 yrs is nothing to worry about. If you can do both degrees w/o hurting your GPA, might as well go for it

Nov 17, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
I agree, I graduated in 4.5 years as well. Most important thing is your GPA. If you can handle the additional course/work load, go for it. Being a double major is definitely a plus on an application

gonnif

Only 389 Days Until Next Presidential Election
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Jul 26, 2009
The Big Bad Apple
Status
Non-Student
I agree, I graduated in 4.5 years as well. Most important thing is your GPA. If you can handle the additional course/work load, go for it. Being a double major is definitely a plus on an application
Not as much as a plus as premeds tend to think. Most adcoms dont really notice it much nor give you that much for it

Matthew9Thirtyfive

*breathes in* boi
2+ Year Member
Jan 11, 2016
Status
Medical Student
I hope 4.5 years isn't bad. I started college in 2004 and just finished in June.

Doctor-S

Grand Rounds
Lifetime Donor
2+ Year Member
Jun 9, 2016
My BS in bio degree needed calculus and I had to take the placement exam to get into it. Unfortunately, the placement exam only allows you to sign up for classes next semester.

Should I just go for my psychology BA as well (I only need 3 more classes) to make this look better.

Graduate with 2 degrees vs. 1 in 4.5 years?