Dismiss Notice
Check out the new Application Assistant, where you can calculate your LizzyM score, see how you rank compared to other applicants, and see a list of schools where similar students were accepted.

I need some serious advice!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Osteopathic [ DO ]' started by chelseamapp, 01.13.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. chelseamapp

chelseamapp 2+ Year Member

I am a freshman who came in with 65 credits. My major is psychology with a premed track. My advisor told me that I need to take the MCAT in September and also apply to med schools this fall. My science gpa is a 3.2 my overall is a 3.5 the only science classes that I've taken are chem and bio should I put off applying and taking the MCAT until 2015? What are my chances?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Playdoh4lyfe

Playdoh4lyfe OMS-0

To answer your first question, yes.

Put off applying and taking the MCAT until 2015, unless you are 100% certain you can do exceptionally well on the MCAT without taking organic chemistry, physics, and other upper level science courses. You'd be much better off focusing on doing well in your courses in order to bump up your sGPA rather than taking the MCAT without certain required/extremely helpful courses.

Plus, what's the rush?? If you're a freshman then I assume you won't get your degree for another year and a half, at the minimum, even with the 65 credits. So if you did apply this fall, even if you had all the pre-reqs, most if not all med schools will not admit you without a bachelors degree.

I believe the latest date to take the pre-2015 MCAT is January 2015. So if you were able to complete all the pre-reqs before then and felt confident that you would do well, I'd say go for it. However, if that's the case, then you'd still be putting off applying till next year since a January MCAT is not accepted for current cycles.