IM Fellowship Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dgruntledmizzou

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Curious about the IM fellowship landscape. Like everyone else, I'm certainly basing my decision on "what I like". But I would be lying if I said lifestyle and salary weren't big factors as well. The only problem? I'm sick of competition.

I'm currently an intern at a prestigious preliminary medicine program (I'm going to be intentionally vague to protect my identity)

I applied for a very competitive field last year, failed to match, and am going through my preliminary year now. Despite re-applying this year to an even larger # of programs in that field, I find myself with even fewer interviews a year later.

I've spoken with my PD and have an option to continue as a categorical resident if I am unable to match again this year. Now I'm trying to find a fellowship to pursue. I realize cardiology and GI are usually the most popular choices (I assume more for salary than lifestyle) which is why I am very wary of pursuing them. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

It is neither for salary or lifestyle. (in general)

Its also because these two fields have more procedures... caths, angiograms, stenting..... scopes, EGD, ERCP.

Also the pathologies are interesting.
Cardiology has fascinating, logically sound pathophysiology, interesting bedside diagnostics as well as technologically advanced diagnostics. Theres loads of new research going on in Cardiology. The field is so advanced and broad that there are boarded subspeciaties..... and a ton of other nice things. Its also a field where you can make a significant difference in patient outcomes.