IM/Subspeciality Research Residencies: Where are they?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bsfreefalllt

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello folks,

I'm a MD/Phd student in third year clerkship right now, and after delaying as long as possible I have to decide what I'm going to be when I grow up. Right now, I'm very interested in the possibility of GI or cardiology. I have heard about programs which foster to MD/PhDs by tracking you into a combined IM/fellowship program with some time to do research. I haven't been able to find any good resources to find out what institutions offer this. The only web site that I saw mention of it is at UCSandiego. Can anyone help me out with other places that offer this program?

much appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

Yale University loves your type and has specific tracks like that.
Unfortunately, you're not a unique candidate for them.

Multiple academic centers have research tracks you're talking about. My understanding is that these fit more-or-less into two categories -- but I don't understand these well, so I'm doing a bit of ass-speak (ie, double-check before you base any major life decisions on this):

(1) "nationwide" established research track, aka "short-tracking," where you cut off the third year of internal medicine and slip right into your fellowship, then make up for that missed third year (and add a few extra years) with some solid research time.

(2) academic center-specific programs -- places like UCSF, WashU, Yale, Baylor, Stanford, etc. all have specific research tracks that sound similar to the "short-tracking" program above (I'm actually not sure what the distinctions are)

Check out the websites for the above places -- look under their residency programs -- they should have all this info posted.

Members don't see this ad :)