IMG Couple match, Visa and LORS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FranticFrancis

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know, yet another post inquiring about matching chances. It must be boring, but bear with me a bit: I have some unanswered questions.

I am a Brazilian medical student starting my 6th and final year of graduation in December along with my girlfriend. Our step 1 scores are, respectively, 259 and 247 and we are both going to have clerkships in the US in February and March.
If our LORs were at least average, what would be our chances of matching in the same program? And how about scoring an H1B visa?

Also, our clerkships will be in 2017 but we will probably apply for the match only in 2018 or 2019 (as a male medical student, I am obligated to serve in the military as field physician for 1 year). How should I proceed with the LORS? I ask the attending or PD to write a preview-LOR and ask him or her again 2 years later to upload the letter, or can I sign in on ERAS, ask for him or her to upload the letter right after the clerkship only to apply for the match 2 years or so later?

I hope this won't be much of a nuisance,
Thanks in advance for the answers.

Members don't see this ad.

It's hard for IMGs to match in the first place, as a couple you may set yourselves up for disappointment. I would suggest for her to match as soon as possible, and then use your connections to maximize your chances of matching in the same program or city. Of course, cities with many residency programs would be preferred.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 1 user
Hi Frantic,

IMG here.
- LOR - You have several options.
1 - Ask the LOR writer to write you a letter in paper so you can keep it and upload it later
2- You can tell them that you will apply in a couple of years and you will need a lor.