IMG Transitional Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted463521

I was looking for this and I did not find any recent posts.
Profile: US Born, IMG school.
I'm a 4th year medical student that just did my 3rd year medical clerkships over at Mexico and I'll be doing my 4th and final year on USA. Just finished STEP 1 will take STEP 2 during the next semester. I know I can't match for the upcoming year, and I'm interested in knowing if I can do a year of internship.

I would very much like to do something that's considered as medical experience in the USA for a extra year after I'm done with school and before my residency for a couple of reasons. I would very much like LoR from US doctors from a specialty I would like to apply to, I want to look competitive having some work experience and commitment in the US system now that I have been a year outside of the USA doing clerkships vs my other AMG competition.

Are there any programs I can apply to like a PGY-1 without being an official medical resident before I apply for the match on 2018 for 2019?

Thanks in advanced.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a 4th year medical student that just did my 3rd year medical clerkships over at Mexico and I'll be doing my 4th and final year on USA. Just finished STEP 1 will take STEP 2 during the next semester. I know I can't match for the upcoming year, and I'm interested in knowing if I can do a year of internship.

I would very much like to do something that's considered as medical experience in the USA for a extra year after I'm done with school and before my residency for a couple of reasons. I would very much like LoR from US doctors from a specialty I would like to apply to, I want to look competitive having some work experience and commitment in the US system now that I have been a year outside of the USA doing clerkships vs my other AMG competition.