Incoming Freshmen Choosing College

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AQUAA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN! I'm an incoming freshman and need help choosing between two colleges. I live in NYC and want to go to Penn State but b/c I'm an OOS student, tuition is pretty expensive and I'm not sure if it is worth the cost. My question is, do dental schools care which college students go for undergrad? My other choice is CUNY City College which is more affordable. Does going to a well-known college matter to dental schools? And how much loans in average do Pre-Dental students usually borrow?

Some reasons I want to go to Penn State is:
- I want to dorm. (I have a weird feeling that a change of environment could possibly teach me better time management and lead to higher GPA b/c I can't really see myself changing the way I study after high school unless I live in a different environment. I want to be more independent.)
- Top ranked! But does it matter?
- More clubs/activities!
- Better Biology program than City College?
- IF, I don't get accepted to dental school after max 3 tries, correct? I still have a Penn State degree and since PSU has such a large alumni network, I could still land onto a job. (Not sure what kind though since all I want is to become is a dentist.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Random thought: Are colleges that are also a dental school usually the ones with the best pre-dental programs for undergrads?