indecisiveness-2008

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chunder66

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello all,
this is my first time writing on the sdn. i am in a bit of a pickle and need some advice from those who might have the proper experience and knowledge to get my through.

i just received notice that i got rejected from all the medical schools i applied to (22 of them). I graduated with a chemistry degree and have a 2.8 science gpa and 3.01 gpa overall. i also have a 23 on the mcat. i have loads of extracurriculars and strong letters of rec. i am sure my personal statement was strong as well.

i am currently doing a masters degree in london and will finish at the end of this year.

my question: what to do? do i (a) re-apply on amcas with the same stats and a masters degree under my belt to less schools, (b) do a post-bac to boost my grads? (c) blow off the US medical school system and apply to the carribean so to not waste time--i do want to practice in the states (d) retake the mcat? it would be my third time if this is the case.

i am feeling disillusioned and tired of the process and would appreciate any recommendations/advice.

Members don't see this ad.

I would do a post-bac and retake all the classes where you had low grades. I would also take more upper level science courses and retake the MCAT. It's hard to get back into the states from going to a Caribbean school so I wouldn't even think about that option. When you apply, if you don't mind going to a DO school, apply to those schools as well. This post is also full of people that can help out.

Agree with the above.

Good grades in a Master's program (unless it's an SMP) won't help your app much, unfortunately - certainly not if you don't improve your grades or MCAT.