Intern Hour Restrictions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Poit

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry to post a question that could seemingly be answered by google, but I was having a surprising amount of difficulty finding an answer.

For interns, is there a mandatory 24 hour break over a 7 day work period, or am I just completely making this up in my head? Or does this only apply to PGY-2 and above?

Members don't see this ad.

When I was an intern, there were four mandatory 24-hour breaks over a four-week period, and I don't think it's changed. You could still end up working a lot of consecutive days without a day off. My record was seventeen days, which I hit a couple times.

Also, the 80-hour workweek was an average of no more than 80 hours per week over a four-week period. Individual weeks could still be longer (and they often were). Again, I don't think that rule has changed.

We could also do 30-hour shifts. That rule changed halfway through my residency. I can't remember what the intern limit is now.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 users
There is a mandatory 24 hour break per week averaged over 4 weeks (average of one full day off per week) for all residents.

Members don't see this ad :)
We could also do 30-hour shifts. That rule changed halfway through my residency. I can't remember what the intern limit is now.

The limit is technically the same for all residents (including interns): 24 hours + 4 hours of non-clinical post-call work. I.e. writing notes.

There are exceptions though. The semantics of the exceptions come up at least once a month at our weekly conference.

This rule is pretty frequently violated at my program, although that is probably 90% by choice (residents wanting to go to the OR without having to worry about anything else going on with the service they're on).