international dentist for ortho residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chaela

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I posting this in the hopes of finding out how much of a chance I have at being accepted for Ortho residency in the States.

I am a dentist from an asian country.
I got my dental licence in 2008, specialized in OMFS (finished in 2012), and am now working as a dentist in my home country. My english is quite fluent since I have lived in an english-speaking country throughout my whole childhood.

I have a DDS, and a MSD degree (masters).
I have an OMS training on my back which is supposedly one of my forte in my cv at the moment (well, so my american dentist friend says)
I don't have much publications except two papers which I was a co-author for.
I have presented a number of times (about 8~10 posters/oral presentations at various conferences -mostly on orthognathics)
I have had teaching experiences at a dental school teaching dental students for about a year.
And, I have been teaching aspiring dentists implantology for about 2 years, in collaboration with implant companies.

I don't have much experience with orthodontics unfortunately. I have participated in a couple of ortho seminars (which sparked my interest in ortho in the first place).

My worry is that I have no idea where I stand with respect to getting accepted. Do I even stand a chance?? I know for a fact that it is much more difficult (if not impossible) for a foreign trained dentist to get accepted into Specialty programs in the US.

Thank you in advance - any advice is appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I do not mean to digress your post, but my curiosity compels me to ask: why OMS followed by Ortho?

Thanks.

I do not mean to digress your post, but my curiosity compels me to ask: why OMS followed by Ortho?

Thanks.