international students' acceptance in US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
C

cin1012

Hi everyone,
I was wondering if any of you are international students currently attending US med schools. If yes, what was your undergraduate experience/stats like, and what do you have to comment about international students application in general. I'm an international student on F-1 but I have been attending schools in the US since junior high. Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

My cousin has been an international student since 1993, he's an F-1 visa holder till today. Here's his journey: 1993 he came as a junior in high school, did very good, ended up rank 3rd in the whole school. He then attended State University in NY and got his B.S. in Biochemistry with a 3.88 GPA and 33 MCAT. Graduated 1999 he took a year off to work using his 1 year working experience allowance on his visa and applying at the same time to U.S. Med school. He does have an extensive volunteer and hospital experience. All i know is today he is a second year medical student at Upstate Med school. So I know it is hard as hell for international students to get in but it is definitely not impossible. I know certain med schools take international student given that they get a degree from their undergraduate program, ex. University of Rochester. So if anything, get a second B.S. from U of R (probably an extra 2 years) and we'll see. Good Luck!

Dude,