Internships and Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pirateslayme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey I have a question regarding applying for internships. I am going back and forth about whether I should apply for one. I really like the idea of an extra year of mentorship esp since I feel like I am not going to be one of those super confident new grads. I don't like the idea of lower pay but I am willing to put up with it for the right fit. I honestly think this wouldn't be as much of a question at this point if it wasn't for my super low GPA.

I am going into small animal and have no intention of specializing. My GPA is very low. Full disclosure is it is a 2.72. I did not do great my first two years and part of that is because I am just a bad test taker. I studied a lot but could never get more than a B or C on tests. I started to improve last year once I hit clinics and I think my last semester GPA was around a 3.2ish (still not great but better).

Right now I am rotating at a place I could see myself doing an internship. I think the doctor I am with would write me a recommendation if I asked. This doctor also helps with the match process and I know she will rank me low based on GPA but I am hoping of I have good letters of rec that will help me.

My question is is it even worth applying with this GPA? Again I have no intention of specializing and I would be totally fine applying to less competitive internships if I get good mentorship and wouldn't be doing slave labor. Please be honest...I can take it lol.

Members don't see this ad.