Interview with ADHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmguy3

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, so I currently have an interview coming up. The interview will apparently include an essay for which there will be a 30 minute time limit. I am a student who has been diagnosed with ADHD and when it comes to taking tests, writing essays and what-not, I am provided with accommodations that allow me to have extended time.

I am worried that I will have trouble concentrating during the essay and that I will end up running out of time before I am able to finish it. Basically, I am wondering if people here think I should inform my interviewers about my normal accommodations and whether or not I should request extended time for the essay? I know that discrimination on such a matter is normally not allowed, but I am still worried that my interviewers might look at it somewhat negatively (or as an unfair advantage) if I request extended time. What are your opinions?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Some interview letters list that if you have disabilities to contact the given number for special accommodations. So check with your confirmation documents for your interview or call admissions.

I would refrain letting the interviewers know about your ADHD condition to avoid any possible stigmatization.

I think the writing assessment of the interview will test you on how well you deal in a situation under time constraints. This will reflect how well you will take on other challenges when you work in the pharmacy and unfortunately, pharmacists are very rarely given extra time when they take on such problems.

I suggest you practice writing impromptu essays in 30 minutes.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would refrain letting the interviewers know about your ADHD condition to avoid any possible stigmatization.