INTO St. George's London vs. Atlantic Bridge Ireland?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jloyay

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a B.Sc. with a 3.56 GPA, I've done the MCAT twice and both times got 33 (33R first time with 13-10-10 in August 2012 and again in October 2014 with 11-9-13). Volunteering-wise I've volunteered at a street festival to raise money for epilepsy research, at a clinic at a children's hospital in my city for one year, did 2 research undergraduate projects (presented at a symposium for faculty for one of them), and went abroad to Latin America for medical volunteering at a clinic.

I tried applying to American schools 2 years ago in 2012 and I got shot down because I think I applied too late (my MCAT score came out in September) and things are really competitive because I am a Canadian and only a few American schools accept Canadians.

So, this year, I am applying to both INTO UK St. George's in London and for one Irish School via the Atlantic Bridge program.

Between these two, I was wondering if you guys can do a breakdown as to the pros and cons and which would be better in the long run? Also, do I have a shot at either of these programs with my stats and resume?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

INTO St George's looks like it is set up like one of the bad Caribbean medical schools (note: I'm not saying that all Caribbean schools are bad, my understanding is that there are about 5 pretty decent ones).

The Irish medical schools will give you a proper medical degree, that is fully accredited, and recognised all over Europe, and the rest of the world. You are unlikely to run into issues down the line when applying for licensure.