IRMA - Resident required to work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

usernew23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow doctors.

I have a concern and I wanted to discuss it here. I am a resident working at a hospital in direct path of IRMA hurricane and we have been asked to work. A lot of us are scared and have tried to ask the management to allow us to but to no avail. The entire city has been evacuated except us.

Are residents required to work in a life threatening hurricane as well? Or is it voluntary.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you can be required to work.

Is your hospital empty of patients? If the answer is no, then you understand why you might be needed

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile app

Reactions: 5 users
Hello fellow doctors.

I have a concern and I wanted to discuss it here. I am a resident working at a hospital in direct path of IRMA hurricane and we have been asked to work. A lot of us are scared and have tried to ask the management to allow us to but to no avail. The entire city has been evacuated except us.

Are residents required to work in a life threatening hurricane as well? Or is it voluntary.

if you are considered essential personnel, then yes you are required to work. And if you don't understand why, then maybe medicine is not the right career choice for you...

And I'm sure your sick patients are scared too.

Reactions: 6 users