is doing post-bacc part time/taking a long time to finish frowned upon?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alestrx9

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am doing post-bacc because I was an English major in college and did not take any science courses. I started out my post-bacc program as a full time student but now I will not be able to take more than 2 or 3 classes per semester for financial reasons (as a non matriculating student I am not eligible for financial aid and I need to work more hours at my job than I expected). I also can't take summer classes because I need to work during the summer to save money. As a result it's going to take me about 3 years to finish my post-bacc work (which I'm not thrilled about, but not very upset either because I will still be only 26 or 27 when I start med school and I'll be in a better place financially; i.e no credit card debt). However my adviser told me that taking so long to complete my post-bacc will look very bad to med schools. I reasoned with her that I also want to take upper level science courses instead of just the bare minimum pre-reqs, so that I'm better prepared for med school and taking longer will allow me to do this. Also, if I rush to finish within 2 years, I will need to take organic chem, physics and their respective labs and study for the MCAT at the same time which from what I've heard is like playing with fire.
Anyway I would love to hear what you all think about this and get some feedback. thanks

Members don't see this ad.