Is Genetics a must-take for Medical schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wonton000

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
This is my first post ever and I hope everyone's doing great.

So here's why I ask bring up this topic:
During my sophomore year (I'm a Junior right now), I decided to change my major to drop Genetics class (got a W on my transcript). There was a lot going with my family and I was taking honors and Ochem at the same time. The professor for that class expected a lot from her students (homework, classwork, presentations, exams, and papers). I do not want to vent on here, I admitted that I did not like Genetics in general so I fell behind in that class.

Anyways, my question is that, should I re-take Genetics during the Summer (with the same professor) OR re-take it during my Senior year (maybe with a different professor) OR I should not bother re-taking it?

The problem is that I'm an international student (the chances getting into med schools are slimmer) and I don't want the admins to question the big W on my transcript. If I re-take it, then maybe I can have a better chance?

Please give me some advice on this, and thank you so much for your time!

P/S: My GPA is 3.95 for now (I don't know if giving this information would help).

Members don't see this ad.

I recommend it!! Personally I wish it were a pre-req, along with Biochem and/or Cell Bio.

Agree very much with this!

The new MCAT is VERY heavy in these subjects. If you know them well, you will ace the Bio section and even possible the Chem/Physics section!

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hi guys,
This is my first post ever and I hope everyone's doing great.

So here's why I ask bring up this topic: