Is it possible to be a successful veterinarian with ADHD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EquusObsessed

C/O 2023
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I couldn't find any previous topics specifically relating to this, but I wanted to know if anyone currently out there in clinics or beyond struggles with severe ADHD. I've been diagnosed since I was seven and was able to scrape by in undergrad and first year of vet school (I graduated undergrad with a near-4.0 and had almost straight-As first year, but I have no idea how I managed this as I don't think I ever really paid attention to anything), but I feel like my ADHD has gotten very suddenly, very dramatically worse in the last year and have no idea why. I struggle to remember simple facts and values (as in, if I run a PCV and don't write down the number I will forget it within about 5 seconds). I'm a current second year vet student who somehow is doing relatively well in my didactic classes despite never attending them and cramming for every exam about 48-72 hours beforehand. I am just increasingly worried about my ability to be an independent doctor one day, responsible for keeping patients alive, when I can't remember if I fed myself at any point in the last 48 hours.

I know people talk about imposter syndrome all the time, but I feel like it's not imposter syndrome when someone has to show me how to work the glucometer 6 times because I forget what they say 3 seconds after they say it. Online learning has been incredibly difficult for me because I learn best with hands-on learning (and learn very poorly from videos) but even that aside, I'm so chronically disorganized and scatter-brained I really don't feel like I'll ever be a competent veterinarian.