Is taking chem, bio and physics in 1 quarter too ambitious?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

customx

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a post bac student and have the option of taking chem 2, bio 1 and physics 1 together fall quarter but am wondering if this is manageable. All three courses have lab, but I'm really wondering if it will be possible to get an A in each course. I don't need to take physics, but want to try and get it out of the way so I'll have more time to study for the DAT in the spring of 2012. What does everyone think of this schedule?

Members don't see this ad.

you should be able to handle 3 science classes. I took ochem phys and bio together and did "ok". post bac is meant to raise ur gpa so try not to rush it.

I say do it. If you can pull all A's you can prove to adcoms (and more imp
PHP:
ortantly to yourself) that you can handle a tough academic load. Dental school is going to be much harder than Bio, Chem & Physics all in the same semester.

Members don't see this ad :)
I guess I should say that I'm a non-traditional taking all the prereqs because I never took any when I was an undergrad. I've taken chem 1 and got an A and intro Bio this summer and got an A as well. I'd like to get an A in all courses (who doesn't?) but don't want to mess up my gpa by taking a physics course which I can put off until later (after I finish chem, bio and orgo).

If you can't handle this load, think about your 8-5 schedule in dental school and how much harder it will be!

You can do it, I actually had the same schedule in fall 07, A's in all except physics, but that wasn't because of the course load, just a crappy teacher. I think the best thing to know in undergrad is who is teaching the courses, try to work it so you get the best instructors.