is there a science major that doesn't have too many labs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

s1lver

☠☠☠☠☠☠☠☠
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking at the required classes I need to get my Bio degree and it looks like I will have at least 2 labs every semester until I graduate. This is making me seriously reconsider my major (Biology) because I am not a big fan of labs and think that they're a huge waste of time. :oops:

Perhaps I should look at a non-science major? I'm only a Sophomore so switching majors wouldn't be a bad idea at this point.

Members don't see this ad.

Two labs a semester is easy. I'm doing 3 right now. :shrug:

I'm getting a Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degree in Psychology. This isn't available at all schools...but there are definitely "science" degrees that require less lab time. In comparison to the students who received a BA in psychology I took many more science oriented classes, but my lab requirements didn't go far beyond premed pre-reqs.

Members don't see this ad :)
Two labs a semester is easy. I'm doing 3 right now. :shrug:

Well, I didn't say labs were hard. :) I said they were a HUGE waste of time. I could think of 457 other and better things to do than waste 6 hours every week in lab... and I'm only taking Bio II and Chem II labs this semester (I've heard Physics labs are much more of a time-waster than those two)!

Well, I didn't say labs were hard. :) I said they were a HUGE waste of time. I could think of 457 other and better things to do than waste 6 hours every week in lab... and I'm only taking Bio II and Chem II labs this semester! I've heard Physics labs were much more of a time-waster than those two.

Anywhere you go (if you want to get a science degree), you'll have to do labs. It sucks, but it's the way it is. If you don't wanna do labs (other than those required), switch out of a science major. It's as simple as that.