Is there any point in doing MCAT work when I've only learned half the material

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the antihero

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I did search but I didn't find similar topics created however if this is a previously answered question please link me to it and feel free to delete this topic. Thanks.

Moving on..

I'm a sophomore at wake forest u. Based on this past summer experience (working at a hospital) I had a really life changing experience and while I was initially a finance major I know now more than anything else I want to be a physician. Hell you could not pay me and I'd find some day job and be a doctor at night, just for the hell of it. So I know that med school is something I want.

The problem? I'm about a year behind on classes however I want to start doing mcat stuff.

Here is the typical premed class load:

- chem I & II
- orgo I & II
- physics I & II
- calc I & II
- biology I & II
- biochem

Out of that at the end of this year (finish sophomore year) I will have finished physics I & II, biology I & II, calc I & II. However I've done NO chemistry and no organic chemistry. I'm thinking of knocking out chem I and orgo I this summer.

The thing is I want to start doing MCAT stuff. How can I approach the MCAT seeing as I haven't learned all the stuff I need to learn yet?

I'm assuming the immediate answer is "dude stfu and go do well on your science classes" I get that, I really do. I'm catching up and doing just fine (B+ and As) However I really want to get a start on the MCAT and any advice anyone can give me is appreciated..

edit:

I just wanted to add, I consider the MCAT basically the SAT for med students by far, far more difficult. I remember that when I was studying for the SAT the studying was done in 3 parts:

1. learning material (learning the english and math)