Is this a good PCP offer? Tips to negotiate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goldsummer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Base salary = 230,000 for first 15 months (4694 wRVU per year to keep generating that much, bonus for more)
$49 per RVU
Sign on bonus: 25,000
PTO: 22 days 1st year, 28 days years 2 and 3
CME: $3,500
Medical/Dental/Vision insurance (dont know details)
AD&D insurance
Long-term disability insurance
401K plan

Any negotiating tips?? I've never done this before. Before med school, I was used to minimum wage jobs and taking whatever I could get. This is the first offer I'm serious about. Any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Why is the contract structured for 15 months?

Base salary is essentially $184,000 per year which seems on the lower end. (~15000 per month)

Are you taking over for someone or building a panel from scratch?

How many RVUs per month are the established people generating? The minimum wRVU you stated is 4694. This work out to ~390 wrvu per month over 12 months. If you take all of your PTO, then you can average it over 11 months so ~426 per month. This should be doable.

This is 2015 data but it lists averages wrvu by specialty

The dollars per RVU seems pretty good although I will defer to more experienced people. (I am used to the piddly medicare and medicaid rates).

What is the payback on the signing bonus? This is usually structured as a loan with a certain amount forgiven over a period of time.

Is there a non compete? If so, get rid of this or minimize as much as possible.

Who covers your tail insurance if you leave? This can cost you thousands if you are responsible and can handcuff you to a job.

What is the contract termination notice? 60 days, 90 days etc?

Depending on the employer, certain parts of the contract may not be negotiable. Never hurts to ask but just understand that.