Is this the right path?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

geochanger

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I imagine like many of you in the nontrad forum im feeling a bit lost, unsure, and totally nervous about potentially embarking on this path so I just wanted to vent really and maybe get a bit of feedback.

About me: Im 25, and I have a degree in both Geology and Environmental Studies. I struggled a lot in college first with finding a path (it took me 2 years to pick, and even then I felt unmotivated), learning self discipline, and then with some depression issues so I definitely could have done better. In fact, these are the grades I KNOW I could have improved upon had I tried harder- College algebra, C- (tested out of this but its still on my transcript) Calc II D, Calc II C- (almost got a b but bombed the final -_-), Physics I C, Physics II C-, Chem II C-, Intermediate written french C. All of my other classes were As and Bs including all the science classes I took for geology. My overall GPA was 3.19.

But Im really wondering if im on the right path here. I graduated and started a job as a geologist in the oil field, and while I absolutely adore learning about geology its quite the niche field. I wish I knew more about my job prospects in school because I just dont feel like its the right fit. With that being said, Ive always wanted to be in the healhcare field, specifically a doctor. The thing that I really want from life, and am not getting from geology, is the feeling you get when you help someone. I want to dedicate my life to helping others. Thats the tldr version of why I want to be a doctor. Ive considered nursing school but ive done some shadowing and a lot of my friends are nurses and ive come to realize that again, its not really the right fit (although I applied to nursing school for the upcoming cycle and thats what all of my current classes are geared towards)