Issues with Clinical years 3 and 4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cinjarn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
Longtime lurker, first time poster. I'm currently in my 2nd year of basic science and find myself awash with rumor relating to extended time gaps with clinical rotations. I do know for a fact that some students with step 1 scores north of 220 are waiting over 2 semesters prior to placement. I'm hoping someone who has been down this road recently could comment in on this issue.
1. Acutely aware of ones inflexibility on geographical preference playing a large roll...can we please not rehash that cause and effect.
Thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

I really think this depends on which school you attend. SGU for the most part had rotations available if you planned correctly and stayed on their time table. They might be all over the east coast, especially if you wanted to avoid New York, but they were available. One thing they do not mention is to plan your 4th year as early as you can, and research how your 3rd and 4th year rotations will effect your matching. For instance, if you want to match into EM, line up as many EM rotations early to get the SLOE's in time for ERAS opening.

Reactions: 2 users
Hello all,
Longtime lurker, first time poster. I'm currently in my 2nd year of basic science and find myself awash with rumor relating to extended time gaps with clinical rotations. I do know for a fact that some students with step 1 scores north of 220 are waiting over 2 semesters prior to placement. I'm hoping someone who has been down this road recently could comment in on this issue.
1. Acutely aware of ones inflexibility on geographical preference playing a large roll...can we please not rehash that cause and effect.
Thanks in advance