Its hard being like William Osler!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mjl1717

Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im an international medical grad. who is battling with step 2 of the boards. But I also recently started a new specialty as a Hem/ Onc. P.A. One thing about this specialty I notice is that patients in general dont want to hear the word Oncology or Hematology/ Oncology..[I guess it sounds morbid to them]
For example you wouldnt put up a private office shingle that says Oncology clinic because no one would come. Its much better to put up a shingle that says Internal medicine clinic.. Also I notice that this is one area of the many that ive been where the meds and chemotherapy are approved and change to newer chemicals super fast!! In addition I see that anemia to an Internist and anemia to Hem/ Onc is seen as something completely different.. By the way the
doc I work with has seen 1 case of Osler- Weber- Rendu ds. (they bleed easy/scratch&bleed.)
Since you guys have helped me in return here is a :

Hypercoagulable state or thrombophilia workup.

protein C&S levels
antithrombin III
factorV-Leyden gene
MTHFR (methyl tetrahydrofolate reductase) gene
prothrombin gene
of coursePT/PTT
Vit B12, folate
CBC with diff
fibrinogen
serum homocysteine
Lupus Anticoagulant
ANA titer

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, but what are you talking about?

Patients dont want to hear that they are going to an Oncology clinic. Better off saying you have an Internal medicine clinic instead of saying Oncology clinic as far as private practice goes.. {I just found out there is a stigma associated with going to an oncology clinic.} The doc I work with changed the name of his office because of this!

Members don't see this ad :)