"it's so much harder to get reimbursed in primary care" - what does REALLY this mean?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ramonaquimby

I'm a PGY3?! WHAT?!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
:scared: i don't know why i'm so confused about this statement that i keep hearing over and over again. can someone give me a day-to-day example?

does this mean a patient comes in for a pap, i do a pap, and some crappy insurance company refuses to pay me for the pap? HUH?! and if so, is it because the ins company is claiming pt didn't need one / too young for one / too old for one? am i on the right track?

or does it mean a patient comes in for a pap, i do a pap, but some crappy insurance company refuses to pay me for the pap because i'm not an ob and i'm a primary care physician?

do tell. is it really THAT bad out there? eek! :eek:

Members don't see this ad.

it's something along the lines of your first example.

you provide a clinical service, and you submit a bill to get paid for that service. depending on the terms of your contract, you'll either get the amount you billed, or some portion thereof....or your claim gets denied for any number of reasons -- service not covered, too short a time period since that service was provided, further documentation needed, not credentialedto do that service, etc.

in addition to maybe getting paid something, the services provided in primary care are, for the most part, evaluation and management office visits (or preventive visits) which don't generate that much in income, say, compared to other procedural based specialties. for example, on one of the plans i am a member of, my most common "procedure" a level 3 office visit will reimburse at about $87 (actually, not me but the hospital i work for). in the time i do 10 or 15 of those, generating a whopping $870 to $1000, a surgeon will be able to get reimbursed about $3000 for a lap chole.