vasca

En la era postpasambre
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Nov 7, 2008
Chilangolandia nuevamente
Status
I personally think that if you go the military route to serve your country and wish to study medicine in the future, it makes kind of sense to go to a military med school (for one the intuition would be free). I knew a few military doctors that dropped out of the military once they graduated and they were all cool people and good at their job.

However, when I was a med student in my first or second year, a classmate had transferred to our school. He started out in a military medicine program and didn't like it too much. Imagine the same amount of content a normal med school sees in 4-5 months, but he saw it in about half that amount of time because he had to do solider activies like exercise, learn how to use weapons and to top it off, every few days had to stay up all night awake just standing in a hallway doing nothing to make sure no intruder (ha ha) would sneak into the base or something going to class the next day as if it were nothing.

If that is not your cup of tea (though perhaps US military med school might be different), you'll probably choose a civilian school accepting the cost (as in intuition) of going to one.

It would probably be advisable to get an undergrad degree from the military if you opt civilian med school later. Just because you served doesn't mean you can skip the pre-reqs!

Apr 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I am concerned with military medicine after reading their section of this forum. My question is would it be possible to retain the necessary information from your undergraduate days over a three year period, and then take the MCAT? I understand the MCAT would require more studying than the average, fresh out of college applicant, but would it be possible?

MirrorTodd

It's a gas.
10+ Year Member
Apr 23, 2006
Nowhere
Status
Resident [Any Field]