This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StudentDoctor54321

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Personal: I am a Florida resident. I have family in Kansas and Puerto Rico. I am not sure which school to enter, so I gather some information below and appreciate your thoughts.

Professional/Academic: I am an untraditional student and have work experience as well as research publications. I plan to take USMLE in either medical school. I am not sure what specialty I want to go into. From what I gather, I can match into primary care fields without additional concerns between the two options. However, I would like to work in Florida and perhaps in a competitive specialty.

Kansas City University College of College of Osteopathic Medicine / DO Program / COCA Accreditation:
Pro

• Tuition: ~ $50, 000
  • Lifestyle: KCU-COM accepted me to their Kansas City campus. Their class size is 250+, and I do not mind big or smaller groups. Compared to Puerto Rico, the move to Kansas seems safer and easier to adjust.
  • Historic Data: KCU COM 2019-2021 COMLEX was Level 1 score was above average and USMLE Step 1 score was at average. They also provide clear data around their Match rate and Match locations which include Florida locations: https://cdn.agilitycms.com/kansas-city-university/Attachments/residency/Match2020.pdf
Con
  • Additional exams: I did not do well on the MCAT. I would be required to take another standardized exam (COMLEX). The concept of muscle manipulation is a neutral topic to me as well.
  • Curriculum: Pass/fail pre-clinical years. Exams primarily focus on COMLEX and students need to integrate USMLE materials on their own time.
  • Clerkship Curriculum: Students may not have time for away/elective rotations which may impact specializations for Match Day.
  • Standardized Test Preparation: Dedicated time available to take both COMLEX/USMLE. 6-week total for both.