KCU vs RVU vs Nova

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Leo260

Reaction score
x

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi Everyone!

I've been extremely lucky to have a few acceptances this cycle (still can't believe it), and I really want to start narrowing down my choice before I have to submit my deposit. For some background - I'm a non-trad student and a clinic manager at a major academic center in Chicago, so I have a pretty good understanding of how medicine functions in this setting (as well as smaller clinics/specialities from my previous job). From this, I'm pretty focused on entering IM/an IM speciality but am very open to anything non-surgical. My personal goals for practice are to hopefully come back to my home city for residency at some type of academic center/large community center - this would be ideal for me as I've had exposure to this setting (and all of the positives and negatives that come along with it) and see myself enjoying this the most (as crazy as that sounds!!!) Of course, I know that this is far in advance, things change, and that nothing is guaranteed in this process.

Two of my major decision factors for schools would be a two-pass curriculum and opportunity to potentially enter wards-based rotations for specific clinicals (IM, peds, for example - I understand that most DO rotations are preceptor-based, but I'd like to go somewhere where wards-based rotations are at least an option). Research is also very important to me and I would like to include this as a medical student if possible. These are my current options: