Keeping a dog alive in an emergency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Marina111

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, this may seem a bit unorthodox,

I am not in the medical profession at all, I am actually a ships engineer but two weeks ago something happened to me which has had my mind turning.

I work on vessels which transport passengers, their cars and often pets. Actually there are a number of dogs on almost every time and almost everytime something happens such as a dog breaking out etc.

Oddly enough I asked my dispatcher that one week if I could try out a different department to see what it was about and I went out as a deckhand...dealing with the passengers and their pets quite more.

The passengers stay on the upper decks of the vessel while underway and as per coast guard regulations are not allowed on the car deck (where their pets are also required to stay) accept for in 15 minutes increments every few hours at designated times.

Two weeks ago a passenger came on with a pickup truck and three pitbulls in the cabin. He had on partitioned from the other two in the front and two in the back sea section. He attempted to set up a containment area for the 3rd one out outside of his truck on the deck but he was drunk and was unable to do it so he left it in the back seat with the other one.

At some point the two dogs got into a fight and I assume because of the closed space they just kept on fighting.
No one knew about it until the owner came down for car deck call because its a very loud space and the windows were heavily tinted.

After everything was said and done he was able to set up the other cage for one of the wounded dogs and bandage them as best as he could.