Last Time I Will Ever Post This (promise)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tryingagain

Soon to have no life
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Wanted some honest advice. I have a 3.26 GPA and just found out my MCATs. 10V, 9P, 10B.

What are my chances? Non-traditional with various volunteer and surgical experience.

Lemme know!!! Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

You already know the 3.26 is the problem. What undergraduate is it from?

Yes, I know. (sigh)

It was from the University of Kentucky in Biology. I graduated in 2000.

Members don't see this ad :)
tryingagain, i think you an OK chance. What may help you is your non-traditional status, which comes a long with life experience. Your GPA is kind of low (national average being 3.5), and your MCAT is right on the national average~29. You have some unique experience will help you a lot. If you don't get in the first time, just do some post bacc (4.0 in post bacc looks really good) work to tell the ADCOM you are a very serious student. I know you all hate this topic but if you are a URM that will help a lot. I hope my two cents helped. Good luck.

I agree with premeditate. You should do some postbac and pull in mostly A's in science courses to show that you are really capable of performing well and to distance yourself from some of the lower grades. So if you apply this year, enroll in your local university and take a couple of classes to show that you are still trying to build your science knowledge.