Letters of Recommendation for Career-Changer Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Faeleia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I have been lurking around these forums for awhile as I prepare to finish up my undergraduate work. I am a traditional student who will graduate with a 3.5 GPA bachelors in psychology in Fall 2013. I decided this last semester that I want to pursue a medical degree instead of a Ph.D, so I plan to apply to some post bacc programs for career changers who haven't taken any required science courses.I know I could just take these courses now and extend my undergrad, but I am attending a small town commuter campus that awards degrees from Purdue University, so I really want to move to a larger city for a post bacc program in which I can receive more test prep, internship opportunities, and I would also like to have a strong graduate GPA established.
My question is: it seems that these programs require 1 to 2 letters of recommendation on average, but who should I seek them from? I have been a TA for one of my professors who is a clinical psychologist, and am also doing practicum work with him this semester, but will a LOR from him be relevant to a post bacc program? I haven't taken any science courses besides BIO 100 and Astronomy, and I took those online so I don't know the professors at all. I have also been working in my dad's office throughout my undergrad as a sort of nurse's assistant, as he is an MD with a family practice, but obviously I can't include a LOR from him...would it be sufficient to have one from his head nurse?
Aside from working in the office and shadowing him for years while he does rounds at a couple local hospitals, I don't have any other healthcare related experience from which I can get a LOR, so I'm wondering if I need to spend my last year working on that.

Anyone have any advice for me? :)

Members don't see this ad.