Letters to adcoms from whom you haven't heard a peep

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gdbaby

Prettier than before
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Dear misc. Chicago school adcom:

I am an older student. I am an educator. I have used the word "process" many times. I can count at least 6 times I have used the word "process" this past week. So, you can imagine my befuddlement when I see my status page and the message that my application is "in process." What is this "process" of which you speak? "Process" suggests forward movement, a direction and a goal. Since my application has been in "process" for several months, I cannot help but think that "process" means something else in Chicago.

Ooooh. Perhaps I understand now. "Process" can also mean to convert one material into another ala processed cheese spread and processed pork byproducts. In which case, I envision that the "process" my application is going through is one to convert it from a thoughtful description of myself and my work into a steaming pile of wood pulp.

I apologize for this letter as I have figured out the answer myself.

Very truly yours,
gdbaby

Members don't see this ad.

To Med School X:

Make some noise son.

Your Boi,
Rayhan

Dear To-Be-Unnamed Med School:

You really should take some of your undergraduate basic math courses to get a good understanding of the term "several". Several, while a wonderfully ambiguous term, means less than 20 weeks. You should admit me and consider a scholarship based on my deep understanding of mathematical terms that you use.

On the other hand, perhaps we wouldn't understand each other. I have a firm grasp on the English language and complicated terms like "several". I don't know what you think that term means. Could you please provide me the dictionary that supports your definition of the word "several"?

Members don't see this ad :)
Dear Sir or Madam,