Listing a Fraternity on AMCAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the truth

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know anything definitive about whether its good or bad to include a fraternity as an activity? I've heard that some schools look down upon membership, however, there could be some value to listing leadership positions held within a fraternity...

Members don't see this ad.

i was an officer in my fraternity so i definitiely listed it as a leadership position. i would have listed membership even if i wasnt an officer.

I had the same problem with listing my sorority activities. If you were really involved (officer, philanthropic activities, etc.) then you should include it. If your experience consisted of strictly partying, then I would probably leave that part of your life out of your application.

Members don't see this ad :)
nlyoung said:
I had the same problem with listing my sorority activities. If you were really involved (officer, philanthropic activities, etc.) then you should include it. If your experience consisted of strictly partying, then I would probably leave that part of your life out of your application.

what she said.
-mota

DaMota said:
what she said.
-mota

I listed my fraternity. I don't have much leadership involvement, but it shaped my collegiate career and its part of my life. I figure if they want a good idea of who I am, they need to know about my fraternity. Also, I think it shows that you are social.