LMU-DCOM fires Dean over support for social change, thoughts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rogue42

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
"This summer, many medical schools and institutions all over the nation came together in our white coats to kneel on behalf of BLM and our friends and colleagues of color. I am currently a student at LMU DCOM, and just like every other school, some of our students who were in town put together a peaceful kneel.

Our Asso. Dean of students, Dr. Jonathan Leo, happily approved the idea. He has always been an advocate for diversity and acceptance in our school. He's been an advocate for all of the students here in some way.

On August 17th, Dr. Leo was fired by LMU-DCOM for his approval of this movement. All of us are saddened and incredibly distraught by this - and we want to see a change.

On August 14th, the President of LMU emailed new student policy that states “You are not allowed to be involved in any form of public statement about social justice and racial inequities in medicine in any prominent location on the LMU campus”."

I am no way affiliated with this school, simply sharing the information*

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Wow
  • Hmm
Reactions: 3 users
What the :sick:
That is quite upsetting to hear as an applicant.

Reactions: 1 user
"This summer, many medical schools and institutions all over the nation came together in our white coats to kneel on behalf of BLM and our friends and colleagues of color. I am currently a student at LMU DCOM, and just like every other school, some of our students who were in town put together a peaceful kneel.

Our Asso. Dean of students, Dr. Jonathan Leo, happily approved the idea. He has always been an advocate for diversity and acceptance in our school. He's been an advocate for all of the students here in some way.