Logging patients during FM residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bobbbyyyy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello my fellow comrades,

I am a PGY-1 FM resident. My program is unfortunately heavy on administrative tasks/scutwork/extra-clinical projects.

One such task that takes up a considerable amount of time is logging our patients into an online patient tracking system.

We have to enter in the patients name, MRN number, DOB, their age range, date of service, the clinical setting, attending name, and ICD10 codes for every single patient we see, every single time. Whether it be outpatient continuity clinic, non continuity clinic, inpatient medicine, NF, ICU, pediatrics, OB, or electives.

This takes up a LOT of time. From my understanding, this is not the norm when it comes to FM programs.

Can someone please shed some light into this specific issue? How do other programs track their patients? Is it inbuilt into their EMR system? Do they hire people to log residents patients? How exactly does it work? I can't imagine FM residents in other programs going through as much hassle as we do.

Members don't see this ad.

We logged procedures, but not every patient. That's insane. It should be easy enough for them to run a report for the patients you see in clinic.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello my fellow comrades,

I am a PGY-1 FM resident. My program is unfortunately heavy on administrative tasks/scutwork/extra-clinical projects.

One such task that takes up a considerable amount of time is logging our patients into an online patient tracking system.

We have to enter in the patients name, MRN number, DOB, their age range, date of service, the clinical setting, attending name, and ICD10 codes for every single patient we see, every single time. Whether it be outpatient continuity clinic, non continuity clinic, inpatient medicine, NF, ICU, pediatrics, OB, or electives.