This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Solyss247

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! First time poster! I graduated in 2013 with a BS in science (biology major, chem and equine studies minor). Good grades (honestly can't recall GPA stats, will have to contact my college to look at my transcripts again).

I had planned to get the ball rolling much earlier, but as is life, I got sidetracked with things like buying and paying off a car, etc. I have worked in a small animal clinic for 5 years, I work every day off at my college equestrian team's barn, probably another 8 hours a week cleaning stalls/helping out.

Here is the dilemma, I have an opportunity to take a job with a board certified equine surgeon/ large animal clinic. This opportunity popped up just through inquiring about a job shadow. I spent the last two days shadowing the clinic. It's a great facility, I just had not planned on leaving my current job as I have the hours/time off/pay that I am able to stay financially stable on, x-mas/b-day bonuses, etc. I have been really starting to plan and think about my career path and options.

I plan to apply to vet school next year pending taking the GRE. I also and considering PT school as I also have a big interest in that field, but I have not had any experience in it. Should I keep my current small animal tech job and continue to find other veterinarians to shadow, as well as shadow under some physical therapists? Or, should I take on this large animal job and try to make it work?