Losing faith in my Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

auferstehen92

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking forward to my M1 summer, I have an opportunity to continue research in a lab that I worked at last summer. Although I didn't find the research incredibly interesting, I liked it well enough and I have a really good relationship with the PI. I got a decent publication out of the experience, and I would be working towards a primary author publication this summer. I could also work my way into a few additional publications and some more presentations.

Despite the potential benefits, I'm having second doubts about going down this avenue. My primary concern is that I'm not entirely convinced that the research is really leading towards anything meaningful. I know I'm a relative novice so I should trust the PI, but basic research can be incredibly frustrating and I can't help but feel like I'd be wasting my time this summer elucidating some esoteric interaction in a cell signaling pathway that might be useful in developing a drug decades from now. The research also isn't in a field that interests me from a career standpoint so that doesn't help with motivation.

I guess I'm not sure if I should just bite the bullet and dedicate one more summer to this research area, or if it would be better to "start over" and find a new PI/project. Time is a also a major factor since I only have 5 weeks off during the summer at my institution and I'll be moving to a different campus in December of next year. 6-7 months just does't seem like enough time to build a strong relationship with a PI and work towards a first author publication in a new field, especially if it's basic research.

Members don't see this ad.

What fields are you interested in?

My experience this cycle.

Pubs > no pubs
Basic science > clinical
Clinical research is easier