Low GPA from highly difficult school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Orlandeau

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

my girlfriend is about to graduate from Wake Forest with a 2.8ish GPA in Health and Exercise Science and has around a 2.5 in prereq's. Most of this is due to her going to Wake Forest, since I can assure you that she'd have around a 3.5 or higher at the local state schools (Wake is crazy intense with medicine, with their own undergraduate cadaver labs and everything). She has solid volunteer experience and a good essay.

Do you all know of any programs that would prioritize going to such a vigorous school over having a higher GPA at an easier one? I recommended her emailing programs to get an idea (I'm getting interviews at Physician Assistant schools despite my 3.0 undergrad GPA due to a 3.7 prereq GPA on prereqs, most of which I took after I graduated. I found out which schools were sensitive to such things by emailing them).

I have a friend who is in medical school and they considered his GPA 0.5 points higher since he went to Wake (kind of ridiculous, but he found one).

Unfortunately, it seems like schools seem to favor high GPAs at easier schools over mid-level GPAs at harder ones, making me think people should just pick a super easy major and take the bare prereqs and hold an 3.8 :) Anyone know of one?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

my girlfriend is about to graduate from Wake Forest with a 2.8ish GPA in Health and Exercise Science and has around a 2.5 in prereq's. Most of this is due to her going to Wake Forest, since I can assure you that she'd have around a 3.5 or higher at the local state schools (Wake is crazy intense with medicine, with their own undergraduate cadaver labs and everything). She has solid volunteer experience and a good essay.