Low GPA Graduate Engineer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shield349

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an Engineer, currently 27 with a BS with a 3.18 GPA and MS with a 3.45 GPA hoping to get into medical school. Don't have an MCAT score yet but will post it as soon as I do, which should be in a week, I don't expect a good grade. I am already studying for retaking it. I am U.R. with almost 3 years experience working in medical Device Manufacturing with some military experience, currently volunteering, trying to get at least 100 hours.

Preferably I will manage to get into the military medical program.

Anyway, posting this trying to get some feedback on my chances, let me know what you think of my dire circumstances. Also sharing one own experience I think could be a good way to motivate others.

Members don't see this ad.

Have you taken the all the pre-reqs? If so, how did you do in those classes?

Have you shadowed physicians? In different capacities?

Have you taken the all the pre-reqs? If so, how did you do in those classes?

Have you shadowed physicians? In different capacities?

I have all the pre-req, except for one semester of Bio which i am taking right now and Psychology... which i am not sure is actually pre-req. yet. I got As and Bs for all my pre-req. except for Orgo II... my nemesis. Most of my bad grade come from my poor grades in Calc I, II, III, Diff. Equ. and Linear Algebra... Got a C on all of them...

I have yet to shadow a doctor. How critical is it as a requirement?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Shadowing doctors is critical. I don't know how many schools will consider you a viable candidate without it, especially given your GPA.

A HIGH GPA (4.0) does not mean acceptance either especially if there is no shadowing or volunteering.