Low MCAT, High GPA + Master's degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kitten Claws

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum, so I apologize in advance if I'm not following the rules somehow. I'm applying to med school (allopathic) this year, and I'm really worried about my chances of being accepted. I'm a 3rd time reapplicant, so I'm REALLY worried. I figured I should ask for advice here.

Anyway, I graduated in 2006 from a top school (Hopkins) with a 3.8 GPA. I took the 2005 MCAT and received 10 physics, 10 verbal, 11 bio, and P writing. I had several research experiences, nothing clinical though, and no community service. I applied for the first time to med school back in 2005 and was accepted to one school (not my top choice). However, because I was an idiot, I declined the offer because I wanted to improve my application and apply again to get in somewhere "better". I know, who does that?

Since then, I've worked for 3 years in a clinical lab at a medical school (and applied for the 2nd time in 2007 and got rejected from everywhere). I also pursued a master's degree, and I'm graduating in June with mostly As. Unfortunately, my MCAT expired by this time, so I retook the test and received 11 physics, 7 verbal, 11 bio, and S (!!!) writing. I'm applying now, and I'm worried that my low verbal score will keep me from being accepted.

Some people I have talked to say that my high GPA and master's degree will make up for my low verbal score. But after searching through old posts, it seems that the general consensus is that anything below a 9 (especially in verbal) is pretty much a red flag to most schools. I don't really have a good excuse for a low verbal score because I don't have problems with the English language.