Low undergraduate GPA, currently in a Master's program. Should I also do a post-bacc program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

graceful1234

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So during my undergraduate career my family had a lot of financial hardships and I had to work. This unfortunate circumstance took an emotional toll on me and it made an impact on my grades. I ended up graduating with an overall 2.86 gpa and around a 2.6 science gpa. I majored in biology and psychology. I am currently enrolled in a Master's program majoring in Microbiology and Immunology. I am hoping to graduate with a 3.7 gpa. I also plan on retaking my DATs. My question is should I do a post-bacc program? Is there something else that I can do to increase my chances of gaining acceptance into a dental school?

Members don't see this ad.

Post-Bacc programs are for people who don't want to do a master's degree. If you will have a master's soon, there isn't any purpose behind a post bacc.

My advice would be just knock your DAT out of the park.

Reactions: 1 user
After your master's program, what do you think your overall and science GPAs will be? If they're above 3.0, and you KILL your DATs, I think you have a shot at some schools. Make sure to explain your hardships on your application.

Members don't see this ad :)
After your master's program, what do you think your overall and science GPAs will be? If they're above 3.0, and you KILL your DATs, I think you have a shot at some schools. Make sure to explain your hardships on your application.

Well I did a GPA calculation and if I were to continue getting A's in my master's program I would graduate with a 3.7 gpa. I think should raise my science GPA to a 3.0 or above.

have you taken your DAT yet? what were your previous scores like? i would aim for at least 22+ on your DAT to help offset your undergrad GPA even with a high masters GPA