Malignant Programs/Programs Which Abuse Students/Residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedicineDoc

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I thought this thread may be helpful prior to the match to try to avoid some of the bad programs ie programs with unreasonable/unstable attendings and residents. I would like to try to avoid these programs if possible. I have had some pretty bad experiences with the University of Kentucky internal medicine department for example.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Boston University has a malignant reputation in terms of treatment of residents, i.e. residents routinely get reamed out by attendings and made to feel that they don't deserve to practice at this "hardcore" inner city hospital . . . attendings are not honest in their evaluations i.e. remarks in evaluations don't have a correlation with reality and everyone in the IM department seems to walk around with a block of wood on their shoulder, it is the sort of hospital where you have to know the politics to do well, i.e. you will spend a lot of energy and times cateering to the emotional whims of some attendings and wondering why others constantly come down on you . . . not for the faint of heart! Most applicants would feel that life is too short for this type of bs, some residents apply knowing how bad it is basically to get a good fellowship (which may not materialize) or to have just to stay in boston for family reasons.