masters in Health Management worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

techie

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello,

I am a dentist interested in pursuing an online MBA or part time Master's in Health Management at AZ State U. It's needs to be online/partime because I want to keep working part time.

I will be combining my wife's spousal tuition benefits and with my GI Bill benefits.Currently, the in-state tuition portion of the MBA tuition and fees is $5466. I would still be responsible for the remaining MBA and university fees, which are currently $13,545 for Online, $9k for masters in Health Management . Depending on my GI Bill benefits, a majority of these remaining fees may be covered.

I will be using the MBA primarily to improve my business skills to open my own practices, but there is a possibility that I would like to work for a dental company one day.

My question is are there other online MBA programs that I should consider? Any rankings? Is the masters in Health Management worth it?

http://wpcarey.asu.edu/mba

vs

http://wpcarey.asu.edu/shmp/mhsm.cfm

:confused:

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know very much about the specific programs that you mentioned but I can give some geneal advice as to whether a masters is "worth it" to you.

By the way, when you say "Masters in Health Management" do you mean MBA with a Healthcare concentration, an MHA (Masters in Health Administration) or something else entirely? My sense is that the MBA would be more of a generalized degree (depending on where you get it), possibly more suited to entrepreneurship while the MHA is traditionally more used in hospital administration.

Here are some considerations that I would think about: