MCAT 507 3.67c 3.34s where should I apply?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbx-8995-1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I am applying this cycle with a cumulative Gpa of 3.67 from UCLA + CC (I am a transfer student) and a science Gpa of 3.34. There is not an upward trend, if anything a downward trend. However, I have worked throughout my academic career and am 21 years old and will be applying with disadvantaged status because my family and I have received federal aid ever since we immigrated to the United states in 2000.

I have over 1000 hours of clinical and non clinical community service as well as shadowing and I just got a research position at UCLA.

just wondering what my chances are? I know my scores are a bit below average. Should I do a post Bacc?

Members don't see this ad.

Where are you interested in applying to for MD schools? Your chances for a MD acceptance are ~50%. I suggest applying to at least 10 DO schools also and you are competitive for all DO schools.

I also think you should do as above poster said

DO isn't a downgrade. GL man

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a CA resident so I have currently applied to every single CA MD school. I have no problem reapplying next year so I only want to do MD programs this time around.

I just would like to know which out of state programs would be worth pursuing.

also would doing a post bacc improve my chances significantly?

I also think you should do as above poster said

DO isn't a downgrade. GL man

I def don't have a problem applying to DO. I just feel given my age I can afford to reapply so I'd like to take advantage of it. I'm hoping my 25-30hrs of work every year will be taken into consideration when looking at my gpa. I think my mcat score shows that I definetly am capable of getting the grades