MCAT, Orgo, and so forth...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ran13

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Newbie and first time poster here. :) With the way my future schedules look (I'm currently a sophomore, double majoring in a B.S. and B.F.A.), I'd be finishing Orgo II in the second semester of my junior year. Unless I take Orgo I over the summer, but I've been advised not to do so by some. Would this be a big problem? I'm not too fond of chemistry, thanks to a certain high school experience, but I don't exactly think the material is uninteresting.

Secondly, I know the normal pre-requisites are Bio, Chem, Orgo, and Physics, all with lab, but are there any other recommended courses I should take and/or desperately need? Any habits I should develop right now?

Lastly, what's your opinion on the whole taking-a-year-off-before-med-school thing? It's not exactly related to the MCAT, but it sort of does depend on when you take the exam.

I hope I've given you enough to read ;) Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey these are all great questions I will try to do my best to answer, hopefully some more SDN long time members can help.

At my university taking Orgo I in summer is a good thing because of usually no cumulative final. Although this is not the case for you, so I mean it all depends on what you are going to be taking that summer. If you are not taking a lot of classes in that summer, then why not take Orgo I much easier to focus on maybe. Believe me I'm not fond of chemistry also but Orgo is much more clearer :).
Other than pre-reqs required for MCAT and medschool, maybe go for anatomy that might help you with biology section on MCAT. This is considering when you finish those required pre-reqs. Also you could take biochem not necessary but also helpful.