MCAT (Prereq) Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bamiller13

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. This is my first time posting but I am looking for some solid advice, and I haven't been able to find a question similar to mine.

I know that medical schools let you apply without all of the prerequisites done, but, for lack of a better phrasing and due to my increasing frustration, how on Earth am I supposed to take the MCAT without them??? Why can I apply without them, but be expected to know the knowledge that I should gain from them already? I am a non-traditional student who is also graduating in three years instead of four to save money, with a BS in pre-health biology. I took a few post-secondary courses in high school, then went to our local college campus for two years, again, to save money. I am now at Ohio State University main campus for my final year, and commuting three hours a day so that I don't have to move. (I am a first generation Bachelors degree seeking college student and my parents never could have afforded to pay for any of my education. Then on top of that at the beginning of my freshman year they got divorced.)

The problem is, with needing to apply to medical school very soon if I want to start next fall, I still have yet to finish Ochem, Physics, or Biochemistry. I don't really don't think it is possible for me to do well on the MCAT without those, and I likely need a good score because I don't have the greatest GPA or experiences, as I was working so much and going to a campus with little opportunities.